RegDesk
Regulatory Intelligence Report
Global Medical Device Registration
Timeline & Fees Report
Medical Devices Only · June 2026
75
Countries
4
Regions
3
Table Types
2026
Data Year
This report covers medical devices only. IVD (In Vitro Diagnostic) data has been intentionally excluded and will be published in a separate report. Data is sourced from official regulatory authority publications and the RegDesk regulatory intelligence database.
© RegDesk 2026 · regdesk.co · Regulatory Intelligence Platform
Medical Devices Only · IVD Excluded
About This Report
This report consolidates regulatory timeline and fee data for medical device registration across 75 countries in four regions: Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and Middle East & Africa. It is designed to support regulatory affairs professionals in budgeting, market prioritization, and submission planning.

Scope: Medical devices only. IVD (In Vitro Diagnostic) data is intentionally excluded. Where a country's official source combines MD and IVD fees, only MD rows are shown.

Data sources: Official regulatory authority publications, government fee schedules (2024–2026), and the RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence Database. Fees shown in local currency unless otherwise noted.

How to use this report: Each region section contains three tables — (1) Registration Timelines by device class, (2) Registration Fees by device class, and (3) Establishment & GMP License Fees. Where official data is not publicly available, cells show "Contact authority." All data should be verified with the relevant authority before submission.
Key Observations
🌎 Americas
Brazil (ANVISA) and Mexico (COFEPRIS) are the most complex markets with mandatory GMP inspections. USA FDA 510(k) pathway takes ~90 days. Canada and Argentina accept MDSAP certification.
🌍 Europe
EU MDR 2017/745 governs all EU/EEA member states. Notified Body bottleneck is a key timeline risk. UK (post-Brexit) requires UKCA marking; MHRA fee: £500 + Notified Body fees.
🌏 Asia-Pacific
Japan (PMDA) Class III/IV can take 12–36 months. China (NMPA) requires local clinical trials for novel Class III devices. New Zealand has no government fees. Singapore Class A devices are exempt.
🌍 Middle East & Africa
Saudi Arabia (SFDA) and UAE (MOHAP) lead in regulatory sophistication. Kenya (PPB) and Botswana (BOMRA) have WHO CRP pathways. Bahrain and Oman have streamlined fee structures.
How to Read the Tables
Table 1 — Registration Timelines: Shows official review/approval timelines per device class (I–IV). Where a country uses different nomenclature (e.g., Low/Medium/High Risk, or A/B/C/D), the closest equivalent class is shown.
Table 2 — Registration Fees: Shows official application/registration fees in local currency. "Contact authority" means fees are not publicly listed — contact the regulatory body directly.
Table 3 — Establishment & GMP Fees: Shows establishment license or GMP inspection fees where available. These are separate from product registration fees.
Special Considerations: Highlights unique country-specific requirements such as reliance pathways, mandatory local agents, MDSAP acceptance, or fee calculation methods.
🌎
Americas
19 countries covered
United States
Canada
Brazil
Mexico
Argentina
Colombia
Chile
Peru
Ecuador
Venezuela
Paraguay
Uruguay
Costa Rica
Panama
El Salvador
Guatemala
Nicaragua
Cuba
Jamaica
RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence · Medical Devices Only
Page 3
🌎 Americas: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
United StatesFDA510(k): 90d; PMA: 180d510(k): 90dPMA: 180d—MDSAP accepted. De Novo pathway for novel low-risk devices.
CanadaHealth Canada30d75d300d300dMDSAP mandatory for Class II–IV. Reliance on FDA/EU decisions available.
BrazilANVISA60d60d365d365dMDSAP accepted, reduces GMP timeline to 180d. Foreign manufacturer GMP fee fixed at BRL 72,805.
MexicoCOFEPRIS30d35d60d—Registration of IVDs combined with MDs. Foreign GMP audit mandatory.
ArgentinaANMAT60d90d180d—MERCOSUR mutual recognition applicable.
ColombiaINVIMA1 month1 month4–6 months4–6 monthsMD Classes I/IIa vs IIb/III. INVIMA e-submission platform.
ChileISP60d60d60d—ISP updates fees annually. Conformity verification: CLP 3,368,543.
PeruDIGEMID7d30d90d——
EcuadorARCSA30d60d90d——
VenezuelaINHRR60d90d180d—Import license required per shipment.
ParaguayDINAVISA30d60d90d—MERCOSUR member; mutual recognition pathway available.
UruguayMSP30d60d90d—MERCOSUR member.
Costa RicaMINSA/MS30d60d90d——
PanamaMINSA30d60d90d——
El SalvadorMINSAL30d60d90d——
GuatemalaMSPAS30d60d90d——
NicaraguaMINSA30d60d90d——
CubaCECMED60d90d180d—Import restrictions; liaison agent required.
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌎 Americas: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
JamaicaMOH JamaicaContact MOHContact MOHContact MOH——
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌎 Americas: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
United StatesFDA510(k): $19,870 / 510(k): $19,870PMA: $441,547Annual estab. reg.MDSAP accepted. De Novo pathway for novel low-risk devices.
CanadaHealth CanadaC$330 / C$4,905C$15,6955 yearsMDSAP mandatory for Class II–IV. Reliance on FDA/EU decisions available.
BrazilANVISABRL 1,952 (small) / BRL 1,952 (small)BRL 8,500+10 yearsMDSAP accepted, reduces GMP timeline to 180d. Foreign manufacturer GMP fee fixed at BRL 72,805.
MexicoCOFEPRISMXN 15,896 / MXN 23,314MXN 29,673MXN 11,922–22,255Registration of IVDs combined with MDs. Foreign GMP audit mandatory.
ArgentinaANMATContact ANMAT / Contact ANMATContact ANMAT5 yearsMERCOSUR mutual recognition applicable.
ColombiaINVIMACOP 3,898,330 / COP 3,898,330COP 4,412,40010 yearsMD Classes I/IIa vs IIb/III. INVIMA e-submission platform.
ChileISPCLP 190,432 / CLP 190,432CLP 190,432Per ISP scheduleISP updates fees annually. Conformity verification: CLP 3,368,543.
PeruDIGEMIDContact DIGEMID / Contact DIGEMIDContact DIGEMID5 years—
EcuadorARCSAContact ARCSA / Contact ARCSAContact ARCSA5 years—
VenezuelaINHRRContact INHRR / Contact INHRRContact INHRR5 yearsImport license required per shipment.
ParaguayDINAVISAContact DINAVISA / Contact DINAVISAContact DINAVISA5 yearsMERCOSUR member; mutual recognition pathway available.
UruguayMSPContact MSP / Contact MSPContact MSP5 yearsMERCOSUR member.
Costa RicaMINSA/MSContact MINSA / Contact MINSAContact MINSA5 years—
PanamaMINSAContact MINSA / Contact MINSAContact MINSA5 years—
El SalvadorMINSALContact MINSAL / Contact MINSALContact MINSAL5 years—
GuatemalaMSPASContact MSPAS / Contact MSPASContact MSPAS5 years—
NicaraguaMINSAContact MINSA / Contact MINSAContact MINSA5 years—
CubaCECMEDContact CECMED / Contact CECMEDContact CECMED5 yearsImport restrictions; liaison agent required.
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌎 Americas: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
JamaicaMOH JamaicaContact MOH / Contact MOHContact MOHNot published—
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌎 Americas: Establishment & GMP License Fees
⬛ Table 3 · Establishment license, manufacturer license, and GMP inspection fees
CountryAuthorityEstablishment / GMP License Fee
United StatesFDA$9,280/yr
CanadaHealth Canada—
BrazilANVISAAFE: BRL 1,952–19,524; GMP: BRL 2,659–72,805
MexicoCOFEPRISForeign GMP: MXN 126,070
ArgentinaANMATContact ANMAT
ColombiaINVIMAGMP cert: COP 2,569,000+
ChileISPWarehouse: CLP 1,048,089
PeruDIGEMIDContact authority
EcuadorARCSAContact authority
VenezuelaINHRRContact authority
ParaguayDINAVISAContact authority
UruguayMSPContact authority
Costa RicaMINSA/MSContact authority
PanamaMINSAContact authority
El SalvadorMINSALContact authority
GuatemalaMSPASContact authority
NicaraguaMINSAContact authority
CubaCECMEDContact authority
JamaicaMOH JamaicaContact authority
Note: Establishment fees are separate from product registration fees. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed.
🌍
Europe
19 countries covered
United Kingdom
France
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Austria
Belgium
Finland
Portugal
Greece
Romania
Slovakia
Estonia
Latvia
Serbia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Albania
Malta
Russian Federation
RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence · Medical Devices Only
Page 9
🌍 Europe: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
United KingdomMHRANo premarket reviewNotified Body review (varies)Notified Body review (varies)—Post-Brexit UKCA marking required. EU MDR CE no longer accepted from Jul 2025.
FranceANSMSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR 2017/745 applies. EUDAMED database registration mandatory.
SpainAEMPSSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Spanish national registry required.
SwedenMPASelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Clinical trial fee charged by MPA.
SwitzerlandSwissmedicCHRN registrationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—Swiss MedDO (TDG) aligned with EU MDR. Economic operators must register within 3 months.
AustriaBASGSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Small-company exemption if annual fee >1% of MD turnover.
BelgiumFAMHPSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Clinical trial (Class I–II): €12,847.
FinlandFimeaSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Inspection fee for authorized rep / importers.
PortugalINFARMEDSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Fee is 0.4% of monthly sales, paid via SRCT Portal.
GreeceEOFSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Class I registration fee tiered by product count.
RomaniaANMDMRSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Free-sale certificate: RON 1,446 (1–10 items).
SlovakiaŠÚKLSelf-declaration (free)Notified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Notification is cost-free; tech-doc assessment €845.
EstoniaSAMSelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Paid services per SAM decree.
LatviaZVASelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Annual vigilance fee per manufacturer/AR/distributor.
SerbiaALIMSCE mark relianceCE mark relianceCE mark reliance—Fee tiered by product count (up to 25 / 26–100 / 100+).
Bosnia and HerzegovinaALMBiHCE mark relianceCE mark relianceCE mark reliance—CE marking accepted; national registration required.
AlbaniaAKBPMCE mark requiredCE mark requiredCE mark required—CE marking accepted for market access.
MaltaMCCAASelf-declarationNotified Body reviewNotified Body review—EU MDR applies. Notification fee €15 per device per year.
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌍 Europe: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
Russian FederationRoszdravnadzor75d75d75d—State registration required. Foreign manufacturer must have authorized rep.
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌍 Europe: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
United KingdomMHRAMHRA reg: £500 / Notified Body fee (varies)Notified Body fee (varies)Annual MHRA reg.Post-Brexit UKCA marking required. EU MDR CE no longer accepted from Jul 2025.
FranceANSMNot specified by ANSM / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMED registrationEU MDR 2017/745 applies. EUDAMED database registration mandatory.
SpainAEMPS€99.71 (listing) / €491.92 (import lic)Notified Body feeEUDAMED + AEMPSEU MDR applies. Spanish national registry required.
SwedenMPANot specified / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMEDEU MDR applies. Clinical trial fee charged by MPA.
SwitzerlandSwissmedicSwissmedic fee / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeAnnual CHRN updateSwiss MedDO (TDG) aligned with EU MDR. Economic operators must register within 3 months.
AustriaBASGAnnual BASG fee / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeAnnual fee (turnover-based)EU MDR applies. Small-company exemption if annual fee >1% of MD turnover.
BelgiumFAMHPContact FAMHP / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMEDEU MDR applies. Clinical trial (Class I–II): €12,847.
FinlandFimeaContact Fimea / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMEDEU MDR applies. Inspection fee for authorized rep / importers.
PortugalINFARMED0.4% of sales (monthly) / 0.4% of sales0.4% of salesEUDAMED + INFARMEDEU MDR applies. Fee is 0.4% of monthly sales, paid via SRCT Portal.
GreeceEOF€200–1,000 (1–50+ products) / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMED + EOFEU MDR applies. Class I registration fee tiered by product count.
RomaniaANMDMRRON 139 (customs decl.) / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMED + ANMDMREU MDR applies. Free-sale certificate: RON 1,446 (1–10 items).
SlovakiaŠÚKLFree / €845 (first notification)€845 (first notification)EUDAMEDEU MDR applies. Notification is cost-free; tech-doc assessment €845.
EstoniaSAMContact SAM / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeEUDAMEDEU MDR applies. Paid services per SAM decree.
LatviaZVAAnnual vigilance: €105 / Annual vigilance: €202Annual vigilance: €202EUDAMEDEU MDR applies. Annual vigilance fee per manufacturer/AR/distributor.
SerbiaALIMSRSD 8,100–13,450 / RSD 20,200–33,600RSD 26,600–40,400Per ALIMS scheduleFee tiered by product count (up to 25 / 26–100 / 100+).
Bosnia and HerzegovinaALMBiHBAM 200 (≤25 products) / BAM 400 (≤25 products)BAM 400+Per ALMBiH scheduleCE marking accepted; national registration required.
AlbaniaAKBPMContact AKBPM / Contact AKBPMContact AKBPMNot publishedCE marking accepted for market access.
MaltaMCCAA€15/device (notif.) / Notified Body feeNotified Body feeAnnual (€15/device)EU MDR applies. Notification fee €15 per device per year.
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌍 Europe: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
Russian FederationRoszdravnadzorContact Roszdravnadzor / Contact RoszdravnadzorContact RoszdravnadzorIndefinite (GMP renewal periodic)State registration required. Foreign manufacturer must have authorized rep.
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌍 Europe: Establishment & GMP License Fees
⬛ Table 3 · Establishment license, manufacturer license, and GMP inspection fees
CountryAuthorityEstablishment / GMP License Fee
United KingdomMHRAContact Notified Body
FranceANSMContact authority
SpainAEMPSMfg license: €983.55
SwedenMPAContact MPA
SwitzerlandSwissmedicCHRN: Swiss representative required
AustriaBASGContact BASG
BelgiumFAMHPContact FAMHP
FinlandFimeaInspection: €2,750/day
PortugalINFARMEDContact INFARMED
GreeceEOFContact EOF
RomaniaANMDMRClassification: RON 3,311
SlovakiaŠÚKLContact ŠÚKL
EstoniaSAMContact SAM
LatviaZVAContact ZVA
SerbiaALIMSContact ALIMS
Bosnia and HerzegovinaALMBiHContact ALMBiH
AlbaniaAKBPMContact authority
MaltaMCCAADistributor/importer: €500/yr
Russian FederationRoszdravnadzorContact authority
Note: Establishment fees are separate from product registration fees. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed.
🌏
Asia-Pacific
13 countries covered
Japan
China
India
Korea, Republic of
Australia
New Zealand
Singapore
Taiwan
Thailand
Malaysia
Pakistan
Sri Lanka
Cambodia
RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence · Medical Devices Only
Page 15
🌏 Asia-Pacific: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
JapanPMDA/MHLWNotification (self-declared)RCB certification: 3–6 monthsPMDA approval: 12–24 monthsPMDA approval: 24–36 monthsForeign Manufacturer Registration (FMR) mandatory. MAH (Daihyo) license required.
ChinaNMPA1–2 months (filing)6–9 months12–18 months—Class III requires local clinical trials for novel devices. NMPA reliance pathway expanding.
IndiaCDSCO30d (import license)30–90d90–180d—Overseas site inspection fee: USD 3,000 per site. MD Notification required before import.
Korea, Republic ofMFDSNotification: 30dApproval: 180dApproval: 180dApproval: 180dQMS audit by MFDS or notified body required. PMS plan mandatory.
AustraliaTGAARTG listing: 1–5dARTG registration: 3–12 monthsARTG registration: 3–12 monthsARTG registration: 12–24 monthsMDSAP accepted. TGA uses risk-based pathway; conformity assessment certificate required for Class III/IV.
New ZealandMedsafeWAND: 1–3dWAND: 1–3dWAND: 1–3d—Notification-based system (WAND database). No pre-market approval or govt fees. CE/TGA/FDA reference accepted.
SingaporeHSAExempt (Class A)30–90d90–270d—Class A devices exempt from registration. HSA accepts ASEAN CSDT dossier format.
TaiwanTFDA80d80d120d—Local clinical study may be required for Class III. Local Taiwanese agent mandatory.
ThailandFDA Thailand30d90d180d—Import license and sale license required separately. Sale license: THB 10,000.
MalaysiaMDARegistration requiredRegistration requiredRegistration required—Medical Device Act 2012 applies. Local authorized representative required.
PakistanDRAP1d (Class A enlistment)30d (Class B enlistment)90d+—Establishment license renewal: PKR 12,500. Change in particulars: 50% of license fee.
Sri LankaNMRAPrelim eval: 12 monthsPrelim eval: 12 monthsProduct reg: 1–5 years—Two-step process: Preliminary Evaluation then Product Registration. Local agent mandatory.
CambodiaDDFNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified—Flat registration fee across all classes.
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌏 Asia-Pacific: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
JapanPMDA/MHLW~USD 100–200 / ~USD 3,000–6,000~USD 10,000–30,000Every 5 years (~USD 3,000–10,000)Foreign Manufacturer Registration (FMR) mandatory. MAH (Daihyo) license required.
ChinaNMPAContact NMPA / Contact NMPAContact NMPA5 yearsClass III requires local clinical trials for novel devices. NMPA reliance pathway expanding.
IndiaCDSCOUSD 1,000 (import) / USD 2,000USD 3,000Annual retention: USD 500/deviceOverseas site inspection fee: USD 3,000 per site. MD Notification required before import.
Korea, Republic ofMFDSKRW 5,000 (import clearance) / Notified Body fee (variable)Notified Body fee (variable)180d process; fee TBDQMS audit by MFDS or notified body required. PMS plan mandatory.
AustraliaTGAAUD 180–910 (listing) / AUD 270–3,980AUD 270–3,980Annual ARTG chargeMDSAP accepted. TGA uses risk-based pathway; conformity assessment certificate required for Class III/IV.
New ZealandMedsafeNo govt fee / No govt feeNo govt feeNo formal renewalNotification-based system (WAND database). No pre-market approval or govt fees. CE/TGA/FDA reference accepted.
SingaporeHSAExempt / SGD 340–680SGD 1,140–2,2805 yearsClass A devices exempt from registration. HSA accepts ASEAN CSDT dossier format.
TaiwanTFDATWD 15,000 / TWD 58,000TWD 100,000Per TFDA scheduleLocal clinical study may be required for Class III. Local Taiwanese agent mandatory.
ThailandFDA ThailandTHB 100,000 (mfg license) / THB 200,000 (import license)THB 200,000+Per FDA Thailand scheduleImport license and sale license required separately. Sale license: THB 10,000.
MalaysiaMDAContact MDA / Contact MDAContact MDA5 yearsMedical Device Act 2012 applies. Local authorized representative required.
PakistanDRAPPKR 6,300 / PKR 6,300Contact DRAPPKR 3,150/yrEstablishment license renewal: PKR 12,500. Change in particulars: 50% of license fee.
Sri LankaNMRAContact NMRA / Contact NMRAContact NMRA1, 2, or 5 yearsTwo-step process: Preliminary Evaluation then Product Registration. Local agent mandatory.
CambodiaDDFUSD 98 / USD 98USD 98Contact DDFFlat registration fee across all classes.
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌏 Asia-Pacific: Establishment & GMP License Fees
⬛ Table 3 · Establishment license, manufacturer license, and GMP inspection fees
CountryAuthorityEstablishment / GMP License Fee
JapanPMDA/MHLWFMR: ~USD 1,000–1,500; QMS: ~USD 6,000–10,000
ChinaNMPALocal agent (SR) required; GMP inspection mandatory
IndiaCDSCOImport license: USD 3,000 (one site)
Korea, Republic ofMFDSMFDS manufacturing license
AustraliaTGAAUD 583 (non-compliance consent)
New ZealandMedsafeNo govt fee
SingaporeHSAHSA product registration only
TaiwanTFDAContact TFDA
ThailandFDA ThailandMfg establishment: THB 100,000; Import: THB 20,000
MalaysiaMDAMDA product listing
PakistanDRAPEstablishment license: PKR 26,100
Sri LankaNMRALocal agent required
CambodiaDDFContact authority
Note: Establishment fees are separate from product registration fees. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed.
🌍
Middle East & Africa
24 countries covered
Saudi Arabia
United Arab Emirates
Egypt
Oman
Qatar
Bahrain
Jordan
Israel
Lebanon
Yemen
Syrian Arab Republic
Palestine, State of
South Africa
Nigeria
Kenya
Ethiopia
Tanzania
Botswana
Rwanda
Sudan
Algeria
Azerbaijan
Georgia
Mauritius
RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence · Medical Devices Only
Page 19
🌍 Middle East & Africa: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
Saudi ArabiaSFDA30d60d90d—SFDA accepts reliance from US FDA, EU MDR, Health Canada, TGA, PMDA.
United Arab EmiratesMOHAP10d (classification)45d45d—Pre-import permit: 3 WD; shipment clearance: 1% CIF. Certificate amendment: AED 1,000.
EgyptEDANormal trackNormal trackNormal track—Fast track: EGP 20,000 registration + EGP 13,000 eval. E-services portal available.
OmanMOHExempt (Class A/B)Exempt (Class A/B)30d (Class C)30d (Class D)Only Class C and D require registration. Class A/B: notification only.
QatarMOH QatarContact MOHContact MOHContact MOH—Type approval for wireless-enabled devices: QAR 500–1,000.
BahrainNHRA10–20 WD10–20 WD10–20 WD—AR licensing required by device class (A–D). Warehouse registration: BHD 1,000.
JordanJFDA10 months (file review)10 months10 months—License issuance: 45 WD after file review. Import batch clearance: JOD 125.
IsraelAMARContact AMARContact AMARContact AMAR—Israel aligns with EU MDR and US FDA recognition.
LebanonMOHContact MOHContact MOHContact MOH——
YemenSBDMA60d (prelim approval)60d120d (with analysis)—Factory inspection: USD 6,000. Importer registration: USD 1,500.
Syrian Arab RepublicMOH SyriaNot publishedNot publishedNot published—Import permit: SP 1,500. Modification fees: 30% of registration fee.
Palestine, State ofMOH PalestineContact MOHContact MOHContact MOH——
South AfricaSAHPRAContact SAHPRAContact SAHPRAContact SAHPRA—SAHPRA aligning with PIC/S GMP. MDSAP under consideration.
NigeriaNAFDAC120 WD120 WD120 WD—All fees attract 5% VAT. Registration valid 5 years. Diapers/sanitary pads: USD 874.
KenyaPPBClass A: 22 monthsClass B: 14–60 WD (reliance) / 22 monthsClass C: 90d (reliance) / full evalClass D: 90d (reliance) / full evalReliance pathways available (FDA, EU MDR, TGA, Health Canada, PMDA, etc.). Import permit: 0.75% FOB.
EthiopiaEFDAContact EFDAContact EFDAContact EFDA—EFDA established 2021, replacing FMHACA.
TanzaniaTMDAContact TMDAContact TMDAContact TMDA——
BotswanaBOMRA3 months (screening)4–8 months (abridged/full)6–10 months8–12 monthsWHO CRP pathway: 3 months. Expedited route available at higher fee. Retention: BWP 1,000/group.
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌍 Middle East & Africa: Registration Timelines (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 1 · Registration review/approval timelines by device risk class
CountryAuthorityClass IClass IIClass IIIClass IVSpecial Considerations
RwandaRwanda FDAContact Rwanda FDAContact Rwanda FDAContact Rwanda FDA——
SudanNMPBContact NMPBContact NMPBContact NMPB——
AlgeriaANPPContact ANPPContact ANPPContact ANPP——
AzerbaijanMHIAContact MHIAContact MHIAContact MHIA——
GeorgiaLEPLContact LEPLContact LEPLContact LEPL——
MauritiusMOH MauritiusContact MOHContact MOHContact MOH——
Note: WD = Working Days. Timelines are official targets or estimates. Clock starts upon acceptance of a complete dossier. IVD timelines excluded.
🌍 Middle East & Africa: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
Saudi ArabiaSFDASAR 1,000 / SAR 2,000SAR 5,0005 yearsSFDA accepts reliance from US FDA, EU MDR, Health Canada, TGA, PMDA.
United Arab EmiratesMOHAPAED 5,100 (reg + application) / AED 5,100AED 5,100AED 2,600 (renewal)Pre-import permit: 3 WD; shipment clearance: 1% CIF. Certificate amendment: AED 1,000.
EgyptEDAEGP 10,000 (normal) / EGP 10,000 (normal)EGP 10,000 (normal)Per EDA scheduleFast track: EGP 20,000 registration + EGP 13,000 eval. E-services portal available.
OmanMOHExempt / ExemptOMR 20 (classification)Contact MOHOnly Class C and D require registration. Class A/B: notification only.
QatarMOH QatarContact MOH / Contact MOHContact MOHContact MOHType approval for wireless-enabled devices: QAR 500–1,000.
BahrainNHRABHD 150 (low risk) / BHD 300 (medium risk)BHD 1,000 (high risk)BHD 100–700 (risk-based)AR licensing required by device class (A–D). Warehouse registration: BHD 1,000.
JordanJFDAJOD 100 / JOD 100JOD 100JOD 100License issuance: 45 WD after file review. Import batch clearance: JOD 125.
IsraelAMARContact AMAR / Contact AMARContact AMARContact AMARIsrael aligns with EU MDR and US FDA recognition.
LebanonMOHContact MOH / Contact MOHContact MOHContact MOH—
YemenSBDMAUSD 100 (prelim reg) / USD 100USD 200 (with analysis)USD 50/deviceFactory inspection: USD 6,000. Importer registration: USD 1,500.
Syrian Arab RepublicMOH SyriaUSD 1,000 / USD 1,200USD 1,500USD 500–750Import permit: SP 1,500. Modification fees: 30% of registration fee.
Palestine, State ofMOH PalestineContact MOH / Contact MOHContact MOHContact MOH—
South AfricaSAHPRAContact SAHPRA / Contact SAHPRAContact SAHPRAAnnual retention feeSAHPRA aligning with PIC/S GMP. MDSAP under consideration.
NigeriaNAFDACUSD 750 / USD 750USD 75080% of new registration costAll fees attract 5% VAT. Registration valid 5 years. Diapers/sanitary pads: USD 874.
KenyaPPBUSD 100 / USD 200USD 1,000USD 100–1,000 (class-based)Reliance pathways available (FDA, EU MDR, TGA, Health Canada, PMDA, etc.). Import permit: 0.75% FOB.
EthiopiaEFDAContact EFDA / Contact EFDAContact EFDAContact EFDAEFDA established 2021, replacing FMHACA.
TanzaniaTMDAContact TMDA / Contact TMDAContact TMDAContact TMDA—
BotswanaBOMRABWP 10,000 (listed) / BWP 12,500BWP 12,500BWP 5,000WHO CRP pathway: 3 months. Expedited route available at higher fee. Retention: BWP 1,000/group.
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌍 Middle East & Africa: Registration Fees (Medical Devices Only)
⬛ Table 2 · Official application and registration fees in local currency
CountryAuthorityClass I/II FeeClass III/IV FeeRenewal FeeSpecial Considerations
RwandaRwanda FDAContact Rwanda FDA / Contact Rwanda FDAContact Rwanda FDAContact authority—
SudanNMPBContact NMPB / Contact NMPBContact NMPBContact NMPB—
AlgeriaANPPContact ANPP / Contact ANPPContact ANPPContact ANPP—
AzerbaijanMHIAContact MHIA / Contact MHIAContact MHIAContact authority—
GeorgiaLEPLContact LEPL / Contact LEPLContact LEPLContact authority—
MauritiusMOH MauritiusContact MOH / Contact MOHContact MOHContact MOH—
Note: Fees shown in local currency unless stated. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed. IVD fees excluded. EU MDR states: Notified Body fees are privately contracted and vary widely.
🌍 Middle East & Africa: Establishment & GMP License Fees
⬛ Table 3 · Establishment license, manufacturer license, and GMP inspection fees
CountryAuthorityEstablishment / GMP License Fee
Saudi ArabiaSFDASFDA licensed local agent required
United Arab EmiratesMOHAPMfg site reg: AED 10,100
EgyptEDAContact EDA
OmanMOHNo govt fee for establishment approval
QatarMOH QatarContact authority
BahrainNHRAAR license: BHD 300–1,000; Warehouse: BHD 1,000
JordanJFDAContact JFDA
IsraelAMARContact authority
LebanonMOHContact authority
YemenSBDMAForeign company: USD 1,000–6,000
Syrian Arab RepublicMOH SyriaContact MOH Syria
Palestine, State ofMOH PalestineContact authority
South AfricaSAHPRAEstablishment licence retention fee (annual)
NigeriaNAFDACImport permit: USD 11,000
KenyaPPBEstab. license: KES 45,000 (new); KES 50,000 (renewal)
EthiopiaEFDAContact authority
TanzaniaTMDAContact authority
BotswanaBOMRAExpedited application: BWP 40,000
RwandaRwanda FDAContact authority
SudanNMPBContact authority
AlgeriaANPPContact authority
AzerbaijanMHIAContact authority
GeorgiaLEPLContact authority
MauritiusMOH MauritiusContact authority
Note: Establishment fees are separate from product registration fees. 'Contact authority' = fees not publicly listed.
Data Sources & Regulatory Authority References
Primary sources consulted: Official regulatory authority websites, government gazette publications, and fee schedules as of 2024–2026. All data extracted from publicly available official sources.
Americas
🇺🇸 USA — FDA: fda.gov/medical-devices
🇨🇦 Canada — Health Canada: canada.ca/health
🇧🇷 Brazil — ANVISA: anvisa.gov.br
🇲🇽 Mexico — COFEPRIS: gob.mx/cofepris
🇦🇷 Argentina — ANMAT: anmat.gov.ar
🇨🇴 Colombia — INVIMA: invima.gov.co
🇨🇱 Chile — ISP: ispch.cl
🇵🇪 Peru — DIGEMID: digemid.minsa.gob.pe
🇪🇨 Ecuador — ARCSA: controlsanitario.gob.ec
🇻🇪 Venezuela — INHRR: inhrr.gob.ve
🇵🇾 Paraguay — DINAVISA: mspbs.gov.py
🇺🇾 Uruguay — MSP: msp.gub.uy
🇨🇷 Costa Rica — MINSA: ministeriodesalud.go.cr
🇵🇦 Panama — MINSA: minsa.gob.pa
🇸🇻 El Salvador — MINSAL: salud.gob.sv
🇬🇹 Guatemala — MSPAS: mspas.gob.gt
🇳🇮 Nicaragua — MINSA: minsa.gob.ni
🇨🇺 Cuba — CECMED: cecmed.cu
🇯🇲 Jamaica — MOH: moh.gov.jm
Asia-Pacific
🇯🇵 Japan — PMDA: pmda.go.jp
🇨🇳 China — NMPA: nmpa.gov.cn
🇮🇳 India — CDSCO: cdsco.gov.in
🇰🇷 Korea — MFDS: mfds.go.kr
🇦🇺 Australia — TGA: tga.gov.au
🇳🇿 New Zealand — Medsafe: medsafe.govt.nz
🇸🇬 Singapore — HSA: hsa.gov.sg
🇹🇼 Taiwan — TFDA: fda.gov.tw
🇹🇭 Thailand — FDA Thailand: fda.moph.go.th
🇲🇾 Malaysia — MDA: npra.gov.my
🇵🇰 Pakistan — DRAP: dra.gov.pk
🇱🇰 Sri Lanka — NMRA: nmra.gov.lk
🇰🇭 Cambodia — DDF: maff.gov.kh
Europe
🇬🇧 UK — MHRA: mhra.gov.uk
🇫🇷 France — ANSM: ansm.sante.fr
🇪🇸 Spain — AEMPS: aemps.es
🇸🇪 Sweden — MPA: lakemedelsverket.se
🇨🇭 Switzerland — Swissmedic: swissmedic.ch
🇦🇹 Austria — BASG: basg.gv.at
🇧🇪 Belgium — FAMHP: famhp.be
🇫🇮 Finland — Fimea: fimea.fi
🇵🇹 Portugal — INFARMED: infarmed.pt
🇬🇷 Greece — EOF: eof.gr
🇷🇴 Romania — ANMDMR: anmdmr.ro
🇸🇰 Slovakia — ŠÚKL: sukl.sk
🇪🇪 Estonia — SAM: ravimiamet.ee
🇱🇻 Latvia — ZVA: zva.gov.lv
🇷🇸 Serbia — ALIMS: alims.gov.rs
🇧🇦 Bosnia — ALMBiH: almbih.gov.ba
🇦🇱 Albania — AKBPM: akbpm.gov.al
🇲🇹 Malta — MCCAA: medicines.org.mt
🇷🇺 Russia — Roszdravnadzor: roszdravnadzor.gov.ru
Middle East & Africa
🇸🇦 Saudi Arabia — SFDA: sfda.gov.sa
🇦🇪 UAE — MOHAP: mohap.gov.ae
🇪🇬 Egypt — EDA: edaegypt.gov.eg
🇴🇲 Oman — MOH: moh.gov.om
🇶🇦 Qatar — MOH: moph.gov.qa
🇧🇭 Bahrain — NHRA: nhra.bh
🇯🇴 Jordan — JFDA: jfda.jo
🇮🇱 Israel — AMAR: health.gov.il
🇱🇧 Lebanon — MOH: moph.gov.lb
🇾🇪 Yemen — SBDMA: sbdma.gov.ye
🇸🇾 Syria — MOH: moh.gov.sy
🇵🇸 Palestine — MOH: moh.gov.ps
🇿🇦 South Africa — SAHPRA: sahpra.org.za
🇳🇬 Nigeria — NAFDAC: nafdac.gov.ng
🇰🇪 Kenya — PPB: ppb.go.ke
🇪🇹 Ethiopia — EFDA: efda.gov.et
🇹🇿 Tanzania — TMDA: tmda.go.tz
🇧🇼 Botswana — BOMRA: bomra.co.bw
🇷🇼 Rwanda — Rwanda FDA: rbc.gov.rw
🇸🇩 Sudan — NMPB: nmpb.gov.sd
🇩🇿 Algeria — ANPP: sante.gov.dz
🇦🇿 Azerbaijan — MHIA: e-gov.az
🇬🇪 Georgia — LEPL: moh.gov.ge
🇲🇺 Mauritius — MOH: health.govmu.org
Disclaimer: This report is generated from the RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence Platform. All fees and timelines are subject to change without notice. This document is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or regulatory advice. Users must independently verify all information with the relevant regulatory authority before making submission decisions. IVD (In Vitro Diagnostic) data has been intentionally excluded from this report.
RegDesk Regulatory Intelligence Platform · regdesk.co · Powered by RegDesk AI · © 2026 RegDesk